Faculty

(as of 1st Semester, AY 2017-2018)

Regular Faculty

Ma. Joy V. Abrenica, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Industrial Organization, Economics of Technological Change, International Economics
Email: mvabrenica@up.edu.ph; ma_joy.abrenica@upd.edu.ph; ma.joyabrenica@yahoo.com

Agustin L. Arcenas, Ph.D. (Michigan State University)
Associate Professor
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Agricultural Economics
Email: alarcenas@upd.edu.ph or arcenasa@yahoo.com

Romeo Matthew T. Balanquit, Ph.D. (Jawaharlal Nehru University)
Assistant Professor
Microeconomics, Game Theory, Mathematical Economics
rtbalanquit@gmail.com, rtbalanquit@econ.upd.edu.ph

Arsenio M. Balisacan, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii) (on secondment)
Professor

Agricultural and Resource Economics, Development Economics, Applied Welfare Economics
Email: arsenio.balisacan@upd.edu.ph

Maria Socorro G. Bautista, Ph.D. (Columbia University)
Professor
Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, International Economics
Email: msgb@upd.edu.ph, msgbautista@econ.upd.edu.ph

Joseph J. Capuno, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Public Economics, Development Economics, Health Economics
Email: jjcapuno@up.edu.ph, jjcapuno@gmail.com

Ramon L. Clarete, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii)
Professor
Agricultural Economics, Development Economics, Multilateral Trade Policy, International Economics, Public Economics
Email: ramon.clarete@upd.edu.ph

Sarah Lynne S. Daway, Ph.D. (University of California Riverside)
Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics, Financial Economics, Mathematical Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: ssdaway@econ.upd.edu.ph

Emmanuel S. de Dios, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
International Economics, Economic Theory, History of Economic Thought, Institutions and Economic Development
Email: esdedios@up.edu.ph; esdedios@upd.edu.ph; esdedios@econ.upd.edu.ph

Laarni C. Escresa, Ph.D. (University of Bologna and University Rotterdam)
Assistant Professor
Law & Economics,  Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, History of Economic Thought
Email: laarni.escresa2@gmail.com

Emmanuel F. Esguerra, Ph.D. (Ohio State University)
Professor
Labor Economics, Public Economics, Development Economics
Email: emmanuel.esguerra@upd.edu.ph

Maria Margarita D. Gonzales, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Financial Economics
Email: mdgonzales@econ.upd.edu.ph

Karl Robert L. Jandoc, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Assistant Professor
Microeconomic Theory, Game Theory, Resource/Energy Economics
Email: kljandoc@gmail.com

Aleli D. Kraft, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Microeconomics, Health Economics, Impact Evaluation
Email: aleli.kraft@upd.edu.ph

Cielo D. Magno, Ph.D. (Northeastern University)
Assistant Professor
Law and Economics, Public Economics, Microeconomics, Health Economics
Email: cmagno@econ.upd.edu.ph

Maria Nimfa F. Mendoza, Ph.D. (University of British Columbia)
Associate Professor
International Economics, Econometrics, Microeconomics, Mathematical Economics
Email: ma_nimfa.mendoza@upd.edu.ph

Toby Melissa C. Monsod, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Associate Professor
Regional Economics, Housing Economics, Public Economics, Development Economics, Impact Evaluation
Email: tcmonsod@econ.upd.edu.ph or tcmonsod@upd.edu.ph, tobymonsod2002@yahoo.com

Marjorie C. Pajaron, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii) (on special detail)
Assistant Professor
Health Economics, Applied Microeconometrics, Development Economics, Migration, Gender
Email: mpajaron@econ.upd.edu.ph

Stella Luz A. Quimbo, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines) (on secondment)
Professor

Microeconomics, Health Economics, Industrial Organization, Econometrics, Public Economics
Email: saquimbo@econ.upd.edu.ph

Majah-Leah V. Ravago, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii)
Assistant Professor
Resource and Environmental Economics, Development Economics,  Energy Economics
Email: mvravago@econ.upd.edu.ph

Renato E. Reside Jr., Ph.D. (Fordham University)
Assistant Professor
Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Public Economics
Email: renato_jr.reside@upd.edu.ph

Orville Jose C. Solon, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor & Dean
Health Economics, Public Economics, Economics of Regulation, Econometrics, Mathematical Economics
Email: ocsolon@up.edu.ph; jose_orville.solon@upd.edu.ph


Professors Emeriti

Florian A. Alburo, Ph.D. (University of Colorado)
Agricultural Economics, International Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: florian.alburo@upd.edu.ph

Ruperto P. Alonzo, M.A. (University of the Philippines)
Agricultural Economics, Human Resources Economics, Public Economics (Project Evaluation)
Email: ruperto.alonzo@upd.edu.ph or rpalonzo@gmail.com

Solita Collas-Monsod, M.A. (University of Pennsylvania)
Development Economics, Poverty and Income
Email: solita_monsod@yahoo.com

Dante B. Canlas, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Monetary Economics, Macroeconomics, Labor Economics
Email: dbcanlas@ymail.com; dbcanlas@pldtdsl.net

Rolando A. Danao, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Mathematical Economics, Operations Research, Econometrics
Email: rolando.danao@upd.edu.ph

Benjamin E. Diokno, Ph.D. (Syracuse University)
Public Economics, Political Economy
Email: benjamin.diokno@upd.edu.ph

Raul V. Fabella, Ph.D. (Yale University)
Economic Theory, Agricultural Economics, International Economics
Email: raul.fabella@upd.edu.ph

Ernesto M. Pernia, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Development Economics, Demographic Economics, Human Resource Economics
Email: ernestompernia@gmail.com or ernesto.pernia@upd.edu.ph

Gerardo P. Sicat, Ph.D. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Development Economics
Email: gerardo.sicat@upd.edu.ph or gsicat@skybroadband.com.ph

Edita A. Tan, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Human Resource Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: edita.tan@upd.edu.ph

Gwendolyn R. Tecson, Ph.D. (Hitotsubashi)
Industrial Economics, International Economics, Area of Specialization: Japan
Email: gwendolyn.tecson@up.edu.ph

Professorial Lecturers

(for 1st Semester, AY 2017-2018)

Luzeta C. Adorna, Ph.D. (Syracuse University)
Labor Economics, Human Resource Economics, Public Economics, Applied Microeconomics
Email: adornalc@gmail.com

Ricardo G. Barcelona
Energy Policy, Finance, Management
Email: rgbcn@outlook.com

Alejandro Herrin
Health Economics
Email: anherrin@gmail.com; anherrin@mozcom.com

Teresa J. Ho, Ph.D. (Stanford University)
Microeconomics, Public Economics
Email: teresajho@yahoo.com.ph

Josef Teofisto T. Yap, (University of the Philippines)
Applied Econometrics, Macroeconomic Policy
Email: josef.t.yap@gmail.com

Senior Lecturers

(for 1st Semester, AY 2017-2018)

Patricia T. Coseteng
Accounting
Email: patricia.coseteng@gmail.com

Noel B. Del Castillo
Microeconomics, Development Economics, Public Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: nbdelcastillo@gmail.com

Jhiedon L. Florentino
Email: jhiedonf@gmail.com

Susan S. Navarro
Mathematical and Quantitative Economics
Email: susan.navarro@upd.edu.ph

Roberto Rafael J. Pulido
Law and Economics, Environmental Law
Email: pulido_roel@yahoo.com

Victoria V. Quimbo
Email: vquimbo2002@yahoo.com

In Memoriam

Jose Encarnacion, Jr.
Nov 17, 1928 – July 5, 1998

Onofre D. Corpuz
Dec 1, 1926 – March 23, 2013

Fidelina B. Carlos
April 24, 1958 – May 16, 2015

Cayetano W. Paderanga
October 9, 1948 – January 29, 2016

Amado A. Castro
May 29, 1924 – June 10, 2017